Sign in to follow this  
Aspen

Isabel Or Florida Fancy?

I am new to zebra finches, having just purchased one pair last summer.  The male is a normal grey and the hen is a fawn.  The first clutch they produced last fall had two males – one full black breasted (I think) and one orange breasted – and three females – two fawn and one grey.  From this I deduced that both are split to OB, BB and the male is split to fawn.

On February 10th, they hatched two more chicks – both male, one normal grey and this one.  I am attaching pictures of the parents and this chick.

On April 5/6 they hatched three more chicks which just fledged yesterday – two fawn and one grey, but I can’t tell more at this time.

My question is regarding “this chick”.  I have read about the Florida Fancy and the Isabel mutations.  I am in Canada, and I have been told that “we don’t have Isabels in North America”.  (I live in Canada.)  However, this looks to me to be a full FF, and getting that from the above parents just doesn’t seem possible being as it is co-dominant.  So I am wondering if it really is an Isabel.  A recessive makes more sense to me, though one out of ten is a pretty low ratio if both parents are split to it.

I also think it is probably black breasted, and have sent a picture of the tail feathers as well.

Can you help me figure out what this chick is? And any further information about parents would be good too.

Thank you.

post-3279-0-41063600-1398497264_thumb.jp

post-3279-0-53326800-1398497268_thumb.jp

post-3279-0-38351500-1398497272_thumb.jp

post-3279-0-89372700-1398497277_thumb.jp

post-3279-0-84715300-1398497281_thumb.jp

Wow. What a beautiful surprise from such a pairing. 

personally, I think this could be a phaeo (FF,BB) but a lot more people on here will give you better explanations! Isabel and FF is a little complicated though but based on your descriptions, you seem pretty clued up and have pretty much explained everything yourself ;-)

Scott

Aspen,