casamber

Hello From Essex!

Hi my name is Kerry. I have been keeping zebras for a few years now and have absolutely no friends or family that are the slightest bit interested in them! Its very frustrating when i want to share my latest pictures or bird news on facebook and no one will talk to me about them haha.

I have 20 Zebras kept in breeding cages at the moment until the aviary is built, (hopefully before next spring), and my ultimate goal is to produce a completely orange bird!

I know a fair bit about genetics, but i do need help sometimes.

Thanks for reading! :)

Hi Kerry Welcome to the forum. One thing for certain you will find lots of people here to share your interest and we all love to see photographs of other forum member's Zebra Finches. Good that you know a good bit about genetics guess you will be able to help Paul answer all our questions in that 'field' Would be great to hear more about what you are aiming to achieve- a completely orange bird.

Look forward to reading your posts

Emmy

Hi and thanks for the welcome :)

Emmy, I am working on combining an orange breast, black breast, black face fawn combination, then once i have acclomplished that i will select the birds with the most orange colouration and pair them up to hopefully achieve a completely orange bird! Im not entirely sure that its possible and if it is, i figure it will probably take me around 20 years to achieve haha. But It's worth trying just for the satisfication i get from it. :)

Kerry

Hello Kerry And Welcome to the forum, I have a few OBBB myself in both fawn and Normal they are beautiful birds i think with all the orange and white.

Paul.

Kerry,

Welcome to the ZFF, good to see you've set yourself a target.

All be it a hard one, any questions you need to know don't hesitate to ask someone will always help.

If i remember rightly i think they are very high odds, hope you acheive your goal.

Trevor :)

Thanks everyone!