Sign in to follow this  
birdman

Any Idea Of What These Could Be?

these 2 males came from the same nest and I have been waiting to see how they would turn out after the moult as the parents are fawn male x grey cheeked female. so if any one have any ideas what they could be would be a great help thanks

Richard

post-2315-0-30947000-1388609607_thumb.jp     post-2315-0-85433200-1388609649_thumb.jp

post-2315-0-18811100-1388609690_thumb.jp     post-2315-0-18852800-1388609728_thumb.jp       

Hi Richard I'm not good at identifying colours but the bottom photographs looks to be a 'pied'

No matter what colour they are they are nice birds.

Emmy

hi emmy

my first thought was a pied but as far as I no I don't have any pied gene in my birds as I no the fawn male came

from a stud that are only fawns and greys,unless its been a hidden factor.thanks for the reply.

richard

Hi Rich,

Both males are GC's, but (there's always a but) because you've bred a GC with a Fawn you are reducing the GC colour over the body,

Please don't take this wrong if you want GC's always breed with a normal grey bird,

Golden rule Grey with grey and fawn with fawn,

So if you want FC = FC x Fawn or visa versa,

Now when these two males are ready to breed put them with grey hens,

What I said here comes from my own experience in this type,

If you would like to look at my gallery you will see some that I bred a few years ago,

All the best Rich,

Any further info i'll try and help with a positive answer,

Trevor :)

• Like 2

hi trevor

I didn't have any spare grey males but because I knew fawn was a sex link I knew I would get some fawn cheeked hens and normal split males just like fawn x normal pairings .out of the pair in question I did breed normal and grey

checked males and fawn and fawn cheeked females but on there 3rd and last round these 2 popped out which throw me

a bit as I knew 100% that the male wasn't split for any colour as I know the breeder very well.the males will be